E.A. Richter Award

The Missouri Bar annually awards the E.A. Richter Award to outstanding citizenship educators. The Missouri Bar Advisory Committee for Citizenship Education established the Richter Award to recognize outstanding contributions by Missouri’s teachers, administrators and schools to citizenship education efforts in the state. The award is named for E. A. “Wally” Richter, long-time Law-Related Education Director for The Missouri Bar. Former winners include outstanding secondary and elementary teachers, college professors and exemplary secondary and elementary civics, citizenship, government or law programs. The Missouri Bar presents the honorees with a plaque and $100.00.


All public, private and parochial schools within the State of Missouri are eligible for the award. Nominations will be accepted for teachers, groups of teachers, administrators and schools.


The Missouri Bar accepts applications from Mar.1 – May 1. The application consists of the following:

1. A nomination form. Nominations may be made by anyone, including the individual or group seeking the award. Please specifically state how the nominee has contributed to civic education in Missouri.

2. A letter of recommendation. Only one letter is required, and may be added as an attachment to the online nomination form above.

The Dr. Warren H. Solomon Civic Virtue Award

In 2001, The Missouri Bar Advisory Committee for Citizenship Education established the Dr. Warren H. Solomon Civic Virtue Award to recognize individuals who exemplify civic virtue and who have promoted civic virtue among Missouri’s teachers and students. Civic virtue in American society has come to be defined as setting aside one’s own personal interest to promote the common good of all people.

Dr. Warren H. Solomon, Social Studies Curriculum Specialist with Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for more than 25 years, worked tirelessly to promote law-related education among Missouri teachers. He was successful because he possessed high civic ideals, he knew how to lead without dictating, and he always put the interests of Missouri’s students above his own. The Advisory Committee for Citizenship Education will be seeking similar traits in award recipients.

To nominate someone for this award, please use this link.

Contact Tony Simones for additional information, tsimones@mobar.org.

Paid for by the Missouri Bar, Mischa Buford Epps, Executive Director PO Box 119, Jefferson City, MO 65102