Missouri Bar honors two with civic education awards

During The Missouri Bar Constitution Day Program, Sept. 16, 2016, in St. Louis, The Missouri Bar awarded two citizens for their continued contributions to civic and citizenship education in the state.

Tim Gore of HEC-TV in St. Louis received the Warren H. Solomon Civic Virtue Award for his exemplary service to civic education. Gore has been a leader in civic education, including serving as a government teacher at Clayton High School, for more than 40 years. The Missouri Bar especially wanted to recognize his dedication to producing an annual Constitution Day program in partnership with The Missouri Bar and Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse in St. Louis. For nine years, HEC-TV has broadcasted the program, which annually draws about 11,000 participants. Gore serves as moderator for the program, works extensively with the program’s panelists and finds creative ways for students to interact with the panel.

The Missouri Bar Advisory Committee for Citizenship Education established the Dr. Warren H. Solomon Civic Virtue Award in 2001 to recognize individuals who exemplify civic virtue and who have promoted civic virtue among Missouri’s teachers and students. Civic virtue in American society has come to be defined as setting aside one’s own personal interest to promote the common good of all people. The award was established to honor Dr. Warren H. Solomon, a social studies curriculum specialist with the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education for over 25 years, who worked tirelessly to promote law-related education among Missouri teachers.

The Missouri Bar also awarded Rachel E. Marshall with the E.A. Richter Award for Outstanding Citizenship Education. Marshall is with the Public Education and Community Outreach program at the Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse in St. Louis. Marshall plans a range of educational events in conjunction with the Judicial Learning Center and plays an active role in planning the Constitution Day program. Marshall also has been instrumental in bringing the nationally acclaimed Street Law program to the courts in partnership between the courts and The Missouri Bar, as well as the Judicial Learning Center, the Federal Practice Memorial Trust and the Bar Association of Metropolitan St. Louis.

The Missouri Bar presents the E.A. Richter Award to outstanding citizenship educators. The Missouri Bar Advisory Committee for Citizenship Education established the Richter Award to recognize outstanding contributions to citizenship education efforts in the state. The award is named for E. A. “Wally” Richter, longtime law-related education director for The Missouri Bar.

Leave a Reply

Back to Top